Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.

I've been thinking about getting a Monster for awhile, but I followed the general advice of buying a used Japanese bike first. I started riding in May and bought a GS500. It's been a fun bike, but I'm thinking of getting a new bike this spring. I don't NEED a new bike, but I'd LIKE a new bike, that is under warranty, is fun to ride, handles well, looks nice, and isn't underpowered or overpowered. I'll mostly be riding in town, but I also want to be able to ride on 2 lane roads that have a 55-65 mph speed limit.

The local dealer has a 2003 620 silver dark. I noticed online that the 2004s have a slipper clutch and a "Power Torque Clutch system". What are these things? If I bought the 2003, would I later wish I had a slipper clutch and a Power Torque Clutch system? I suppose I could get a better deal on the 2003, but I'm willing to spend more money, if it will get me something I'm going to be happier with in the long run.

Also, if I bought a 620, are there modifications I would want to do right away to make the bike more functional? For example on the GS, the stock jetting is too lean, and the stock tires are crap, so many people buy new tires right away, and get the bikes rejetted. Are there any issues like this on the Monsters, or are they ready to go, as is? (I'm not talking about chopping off the fenders or putting carbon fiber on- I'm more interested in opinions on tires, suspension, jetting, and gearing.)

What do you think?

Thanks,
Laura

S

·
0 Posts
I'll mostly be riding in town, but I also want to be able to ride on 2 lane roads that have a 55-65 mph speed limit.
The local dealer has a 2003 620 silver dark. I noticed online that the 2004s have a slipper clutch and a "Power Torque Clutch system". What are these things? If I bought the 2003, would I later wish I had a slipper clutch and a Power Torque Clutch system?