Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some tech help from any Monster experts. Just bought a 1995 M900 with 20,0000 miles on it and was told that it needed to be rejetted. Being a bike newbie I accepted that, but a buddy of mine says the problem the bike has is unlikely to be the jets. The problem is that the bike has absolutely no top end in any gear. After about a half throttle turn the bike just doesn't rev any higher and actually backs off alittle. The fuel/oil filter and oil have all been replaced and the originally owner claims that the valves were recently adjusted 1000 miles ago. I'm going to take it in, but I was hoping to get some idea of the problem before hand. Thanks!

H

·
0 Posts
Your buddy may be clueless. It could very well need to be rejetted. You'll need to look at the plugs, to get an idea if it's running rich or lean. I'd suggest taking it to someone who does know a thing or two about a carb'd monster.

M

·
0 Posts
Hold on a minute, more information is needed first. You don't state whether this bike is stock or not. Are the carbs stock? What mods have been done to it? Stock those things ran just fine so you have to figure out what changed to make it run bad. Let us know what's going on.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the help. The bike is stock, but the original owner said that it had aftermarket exhausts which were sold off. The original exhausts were placed back on recently. He also said (after the sale) that he was not sure if the jets were truly the cause. Could misaligned valves cause this kind of problem. (I'm brand spankin' new to bikes so sorry for the newbie questions)

·
Premium Member
5,076 Posts