Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

Newbie here. I was wondering if you would help me decide on buying a 2001 M900. I have not seen the bike. It belongs to a friend's father's friend. It has 22,00 miles on it, is in perfect cosmetic condition, has been meticulously maintained, is equipped with low mount Termignoni C/F cans (not sure if it is a whole system), is equipped with Ohlins rear shock w/ remote reservoir. I am not sure if it has an aftermarket filter and fuel map. Everything else is stock as far as I know. He wants around $4000 for the bike.

I have not had a chance to speak to the owner himself as he has been out of town.

My questions for you:

1 - Does the price seem right?
2 - Is 22,000 a lot of miles? How many miles are these engines typically good for?

Thanks a lot for any information/ideas/opinions.

- Ryan

·
Registered
2,908 Posts
That sounds like a pretty good deal to me. If he has all the maintenance records and has taken as good of care of it as it sounds, then I don't think 22,000 miles is a big deal. Lots of people here have MANY more miles than that. My '01 M900 has 16,000 and is still running great. Make sure the belts are <2 years old...if they aren't or you can't tell, then just replace them.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply Jeremy. Hate to admit that I don't know something, but I am not sure what the "belts" are. I am new to Ducatis. I have only owned one motorcycle, my 2001 Triumph Thunderbird. It has treated me well and taught me a thing or two about riding, but I need something a little sportier.

·
Premium Member
6,957 Posts
Ryno said:
has been meticulously maintained,
This is the key.

Price sounds good.
lots of people here have got 40-50k or more without needing anything other than routine maintenance