Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

My name's Graham, from Canada and I'm new to both riding (piloting, that is. Spent tons of time on the back of my Dad's Triumphs and BMWs growing up) and Ducatis. Motorcycles have run in my family since my great-grandfather purchased his first Sunbeam MK1 back in 1914. I've spent time on off-road bikes, but I am yet to be at the bars of a bike on the road. Now that I'm big and old enough to pilot a bike, I'm ready to get my hands on my own bike.

Throughout the next year and a half or so, I hope to obtain the sufficient licensing, experience, and knowledge of Ducatis to confidently buy my first bike, a 2009 Ducati Monster 696.

I hope that with the help of these forums, and all of you, I can achieve this!

Cheers

·
Premium Member
201 Posts
Hello all,

My name's Graham, from Canada and I'm new to both riding (piloting, that is. Spent tons of time on the back of my Dad's Triumphs and BMWs growing up) and Ducatis. Motorcycles have run in my family since my great-grandfather purchased his first Sunbeam MK1 back in 1914. I've spent time on off-road bikes, but I am yet to be at the bars of a bike on the road. Now that I'm big and old enough to pilot a bike, I'm ready to get my hands on my own bike.

Throughout the next year and a half or so, I hope to obtain the sufficient licensing, experience, and knowledge of Ducatis to confidently buy my first bike, a 2009 Ducati Monster 696.

I hope that with the help of these forums, and all of you, I can achieve this!

Cheers
Welcome gblicq! Glad you're here.

Your off-road experience will be helpful but if at all possible, take a rider safety course before you buy a bike and don't skimp on safety gear. Good helmets are expensive but they cost less than a lifetime of disability because you cheaped out on a melon protector. Suggest you start investigating leathers before you buy a bike too.