Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Ducati fold as I recently bought an '03 M1000S with only 1,100 miles on it and Giannelli exhaust. I'm also an old (69) rider coming from the Japanese inline 4's -- FZ-1, VFR800, ZX6, ZRX1100, etc. At my age I don't consider myself anywhere close to an aggressive rider--just happy to be still riding. My question (at last) is what is typical fuel mileage for moderate riding for my bike. Seems to be my only criticism of the Monster which I love is I can go only about 105 to 110 miles before the low fuel light comes on. Even with the FZ-1 I got over 40 mpg with same riding style, but I can't seem to get beyond 37 to 38 mpg. Small complaint about a great bike, but I like to ride in the more remote areas.

·
Premium Member
2,406 Posts
My riding style sounds similar to yours.

My epxerience is that I can average 135 miles from a tank. I did however have an anomoly where I got 52MPG one week.

That being said I have just switched to 87 octane per a discussion/arguement that entailed in another chat board. I haven't checked my mileage yet but the bike does not run noticably different at all.

·
Premium Member
5,076 Posts
Most of us with 900 bikes get around 40-48 mpg. I don't think anyone here has figure out the new 1000, so we'll be looking for you to update us. My guess is that after it's broken in, mileage will increase.

·
Registered
86 Posts
There's a recent string on mileage, just do a search on that term to see what many are getting.

As for my "00 M900S with K&N and Sil slip-ons, I consistently got mid-40's mpg riding 50-90 mph on Colorado twisties. Then I took into the dealer for CO trim adjustment. They dropped CO from around 6ppm to around 3.5ppm. Now my mileage is in the 50's.