Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently changed the front sprocket of the 696 to a 14T. My problem is timing. It may just take getting used to or finding the right gear - but going into a corner with the stock setup (15T) left me with plenty of room to roll on the throttle through the turn.... Now I am finding myself needing to shift mid turn... I am self taught - and maybe shifting in a turn is ok - but for me it seems like it kills momentum. I may just go back to the stock setup - but in a straight line it feels quicker....

Any thoughts, suggestions or opinions out there?

·
Registered
663 Posts
I recently changed the front sprocket of the 696 to a 14T. My problem is timing. It may just take getting used to or finding the right gear - but going into a corner with the stock setup (15T) left me with plenty of room to roll on the throttle through the turn.... Now I am finding myself needing to shift mid turn... I am self taught - and maybe shifting in a turn is ok - but for me it seems like it kills momentum. I may just go back to the stock setup - but in a straight line it feels quicker....

Any thoughts, suggestions or opinions out there?
Seems to me you were in too low a gear going into the turn. You must have already been at the upper edge of your rev range, bing in the next higher gear would have probably put you into the meat of your torque curve, and provided more drive out of the turn. Also being 1 gear higher would make the biek less prone to weight shifts as you play the throttle.

·
Registered
64 Posts