Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my suspension setup at a bike shop. I can feel the difference, for the better, but I noticed that the right preload adjuster sticks out about three millimeters more than the left. My common sense says this is wrong. Take it back in, right?
Also, apparently I'm at the limit with the preload on the front. If I get any heavier, or any more gear, I'll need heavier springs, so I've been told. Also, I'm still experiencing a lot of dive during medium-hard breaking. Should I just get the heavier springs now?

·
Registered
8,800 Posts
If they're not even, you've got more preload available.
The preload adjusters should be set even. Either take it back or even 'em up yourself.

Are you using all of the front suspension travel?

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Nick,

I just started learning about suspension this week, man. The guy at the shop said the front preload was set at its limit. I was afraid he was just trying to sell me some heavier springs. How do I know if I'm using full suspension travel? Is it safe for me to bring the lower preload adjuster up without adjusting anything else? Or should I bring the higher adjuster down?

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
2,952 Posts
I agree - even them up yourself. Put a tie wrap on the fork slider and see how much travel you are really using. You want to use as much as possible without ever bottoming out. My stock non adjustable Showas were really soft and compliant, but never bottomed and had about 10-15mm in reserve travel. They worked great on street and track. I've since swapped to adjustable Showas from a '96 SS and am still backing out the preload adjusters to use as much of the available travel as I can. I may even have to swap to slightly softer springs - but only after a bunch more adjusting and testing.