Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, first post here. I'm a complete newb at bikes cept for the few times i rode my friends CBR F3 a few years back, so i have next to no rideing experience. I was talking with that same friend several months back and said i was interested in getting a bike, but i wanted something that was not some bright, plastic covered crotch rocket, but not a cruiser. Something with some style. He immediately said the Monster. I looked it up and it is exactly what i had pictured in my mind! Anyway i'm a pretty cheap guy and and generally shoot for the lowest price model i can get (hell i drive a 4-cylider Dakota). I finally went to a dealership to see the bikes and get some price quotes. I asked the guy if there was a big difference between the 620 and 800. He didn't sugar cote it at all, he just said "yes". He said he's had a lot of guys that are new to rideing and get the 620 only to come back a few months later and trade in or wish they had gone for the 800. But that was a salesman and perhaps he's just trying to make a bigger sale, so i figure you all would have real advice. So, knowing im new to rideing and that im not a huge spead freak, do you think it's worth the extra $$ to get the 800? How big is the difference?

·
Registered
2,310 Posts
620 should be fine. They say that although it is not as powerful, it has a suprisingly similar amount of horsepower. I remember the salesman telling me the same thing about how I would be back. So I bought the 750 (in 2002), but then I went home and looked up the numbers and found that it only had like 4 more horsepower than the 620!

·
Registered
270 Posts
Gday
I think that if you have not much experiance on a bike , then the 620 will be great to too much power but enough to have fun & get some experience. Once you have the 620 for a year or 2, you will be a much better rider.

Then by an S4R!!!!!!!!!!!!!