Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
V

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new 2003 Monster 620. This is my first Ducati, so I am a newbie.

I would like change the mufflers to low aftermarket slip-ons.

I have talked to the service reps at several Ducati dealers and they talk about either remapping the standard chip after the new mufflers are installed or changing to a new chip that is supplied by the muffler manufacturer.

When I ask them for more detailed information all I get is techno-babble.

What I need is some basic information about which manufacturers provide a chip with their mufflers and for those vendors who do not provide a chip is remapping required?

If remapping is required what type of equipment and skills do the dealer's techs need to do this job properly.

thanks in advance

Viper38

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
yo...
most simply put, you should have no problems running your bike with aftermarket cans and NO other changes.

here's why...
your stock airbox lid is restrictive enough for intake that it'll prevent the bike from running TOO lean with free-flowing cans installed.

here's more...
NO aftermarket exhaust company offers a replacement chip with their cans for the m620 or any '02+ ducati aside from "ducati performance". this is because the computer in all '02+ bikes doesn't have a replaceable chip in it like previous generations.

more info...
keep in mind that all ducati's are shipped to the US with a mixture that's leaner than ideal to meet EPA emissions standards. this being the case, it's again NOT TOTALLY NECESSARY, but a good idea to tune the fuel injection even if you keep the stock cans! note that a common mod done in conjunction with free-flowing exhaust is to cut open the airbox lid for better intake. if you do this, then you'll DEFINATELY want to tune your fuel injection to prevent a dangerously lean running condition.

what are your options?