Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all
I have joined this very informative forum to seek help. My wife says that I don't know much and should ask instead of assuming.
Here goes. I would like to increase the power of my S4. I already have the DP slipons, open airbox, and ECU. My big question is why is there more power with the full exhaust system as opposed to the half systems. I know that some say that it is the header than does the restricting. Could someone please explain to me what the sizes of pipes mean as far as power (42mm, 45mm, 50mm etc.)? I know that Strati is putting a ST4 header on his s4, but how can I keep what I have, and replace some pipes to get the horses up. Thanks for the help, as you know, I am a newbie

G

·
While the headers probably are a restriction currently to air flow unless you then recam the engine and remap the ecu again you probably will not see much of a change or more likely you will shift that torque curve around, and not for the better. Torque is king. Headers might add some power but only at the top end since it's an exhaust gas flow issue and you are only going to be very restrictive at high gas speeds, aka: high rpms. At lower gas speeds those stock headers probably flow as well as spaghetti headers and the restriction they provide helps tune that torque curve depending on the camming. You could also lose torque unless your entire intake/exhaust system is well matched and dyno tuned.

Not to discourage you or anything ;)

The one thing about engines to keep in mind is they are nothing more exotic that big air pumps with some spark generating bits and some volatile fuel added. There is going to be a ceiling that you just are not going to be able to go beyond without going to forced induction, ie: a turbo or supercharger or even nitrous.