Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there is A LOT of info on ECU replacement but I like many others have run into the infamouse no red key or card when i bought my 2002 M750. I only have one black key. My speedo on my gauge cluster has never worked and i have a replacement cluster but cant install it since i do not have the red key.

I have been doing some research and came across this product called IGNIJET 2007 DUCATI. I beleive it's from the UK but have never seen anything on the monster boards. Has anyone ever heard of this or installed one? Does it work? it states on the site that it removes the immobilazer. would that allow me to install the gauge cluster i have and get keys made without the trasnponder?

Here are a few web sites i found for the product. More info if you google IGNIJET 2007 DUCATI.
http://www.ducati-kaemna.de/cms_en/katalog.htm?&view=artikel&artikel=2408
http://www.ignitech.cz/english/ignijet/ducati/ignijet_2007_ducati.htm

I have also been informed that the protune product from http://www.motowheels.com/italian/mySearchResult.cfm? will work.

Any input/advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

bird.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
635 Posts
I know there is A LOT of info on ECU replacement but I like many others have run into the infamouse no red key or card when i bought my 2002 M750. I only have one black key. My speedo on my gauge cluster has never worked and i have a replacement cluster but cant install it since i do not have the red key.

I have been doing some research and came across this product called IGNIJET 2007 DUCATI. I beleive it's from the UK but have never seen anything on the monster boards. Has anyone ever heard of this or installed one? Does it work? it states on the site that it removes the immobilazer. would that allow me to install the gauge cluster i have and get keys made without the trasnponder?

Here are a few web sites i found for the product. More info if you google IGNIJET 2007 DUCATI.
http://www.ducati-kaemna.de/cms_en/katalog.htm?&view=artikel&artikel=2408
http://www.ignitech.cz/english/ignijet/ducati/ignijet_2007_ducati.htm

I have also been informed that the protune product from http://www.motowheels.com/italian/mySearchResult.cfm? will work.

Any input/advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

bird.
Will take a look at those sites once I get home...But, why not reflash your ECU and get rid of the inmobilizer?

Just and idea
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
34 Posts
I know there is A LOT of info on ECU replacement but I like many others have run into the infamouse no red key or card when i bought my 2002 M750. I only have one black key. My speedo on my gauge cluster has never worked and i have a replacement cluster but cant install it since i do not have the red key.

I have been doing some research and came across this product called IGNIJET 2007 DUCATI. I beleive it's from the UK but have never seen anything on the monster boards. Has anyone ever heard of this or installed one? Does it work? it states on the site that it removes the immobilazer. would that allow me to install the gauge cluster i have and get keys made without the trasnponder?

Here are a few web sites i found for the product. More info if you google IGNIJET 2007 DUCATI.
http://www.ducati-kaemna.de/cms_en/katalog.htm?&view=artikel&artikel=2408
http://www.ignitech.cz/english/ignijet/ducati/ignijet_2007_ducati.htm

I have also been informed that the protune product from http://www.motowheels.com/italian/mySearchResult.cfm? will work.

Any input/advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

bird.
I am not sure about the Motowheels programer, call and ask they are good people. That ECU you have linked is about $700 US. Desmoporsche.com charges $250 I think, to remove the immobilizer if you send your ECU in. Then you could use any gauge you want. keysforducati.com told me they can make a red key, make black keys, find the code number, and transfer info from your old dash to a used dash. You may be able to fix your speedo as sometimes the needle just needs to be glued back onto the shaft that rotates it.
If the replacement guage cluster is not brand new, virgin, it wont work even if you have the red key and code. They marry to the original ECU, keys for ducati can transfer the info to make a used gauge work.

Hope this helps
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Will take a look at those sites once I get home...But, why not reflash your ECU and get rid of the inmobilizer?

Just and idea
I have no idea what to do on reflashing the ECU and am scared to death to mail it anywhere as if something happens i am hosed. i am in north carolina - have you heard of anyone near here that will do that?

i previously tore the gauge cluster apart but dont remember if i got that far to the needle. having said that when i turn the key it looks like it is going thru diagnostic and the needle moves so that may not be it - i will check again though.

Thanks for your help sduc and darkmonster620

bird
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
635 Posts
I have no idea what to do on reflashing the ECU and am scared to death to mail it anywhere as if something happens i am hosed. i am in north carolina - have you heard of anyone near here that will do that?
...desmo-porsche do it and ducati depot do it...One in TX and one in FL...

i previously tore the gauge cluster apart but dont remember if i got that far to the needle. having said that when i turn the key it looks like it is going thru diagnostic and the needle moves so that may not be it - i will check again though.
...This you left out of your previous post... Now, you might need to send BOTH parts in for servicing....:mad:

Thanks for your help sduc and darkmonster620

bird
...you're welcome....
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
34 Posts
Glad to help out.
Silverback performance.net out of St. Paul Mn. can also do ECU flashing. If the needle sweeps on start up maybe the speedo sensor is bad?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
heres the e-mail i got back from keysforducati....

"Do not disable the immobilizer. If you want this done the cost is $400 but we can fix your cluster situation in a better way. As long as your cluster is a compatible part, we can reprogram it and provide you with a working red key and a spare black key for $350 and keep the broken cluster for parts. This way the security and value of your bike are retained. Don’t worry about shipping it as we have a solution no matter what happens, just be sure to insure it and track it."

seems to make sense and sounds like a deal considering my situation. But it still scares the [email protected] out of me to send my only key, ecu and gluster in the mail. i guess i could just insure it for A LOT of money and if something does happen then i get new..... :)

thanks again for you help...

bird
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
635 Posts
heres the e-mail i got back from keysforducati....

"Do not disable the immobilizer. If you want this done the cost is $400 but we can fix your cluster situation in a better way. As long as your cluster is a compatible part, we can reprogram it and provide you with a working red key and a spare black key for $350 and keep the broken cluster for parts. This way the security and value of your bike are retained. Don’t worry about shipping it as we have a solution no matter what happens, just be sure to insure it and track it."

seems to make sense and sounds like a deal considering my situation. But it still scares the [email protected] out of me to send my only key, ecu and gluster in the mail. i guess i could just insure it for A LOT of money and if something does happen then i get new..... :)

thanks again for you help...

bird
Sounds fare to me, but as said, me, I'd go the reflash way, IF, the cluster was in working order...

Maybe I shouldn't but,http://www.desmoporsche.com/index.php?cPath=75 and click on Monster or,

http://stores.ebay.com/trump-motors_ECU_W0QQ_fsubZ20351363QQ_sidZ200584850QQ_trksidZp4634Q2ec0Q2em322

or,

http://www.ducshop.com/

or

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/01-02-Ducati-Monster-620-750-Lockset-ECU-Gauge-9618mi_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQhashZitem3a5689def6QQitemZ250559979254QQptZMotorcyclesQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

Good luck making your desicion....And always glad to help...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
I had mine flashed by Desmo-Porsche. $250.00 done deal.
hey i have a 2003 monster and wasnt given the code card but was given the red key and two black keys and the little metal plate with numbers on it. what all did you have to send into desmo-porsche. and ne more question if the engine locks me out the only thing that i can use is the code card or can i use the red key
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
635 Posts
hey i have a 2003 monster and wasnt given the code card but was given the red key and two black keys and the little metal plate with numbers on it. what all did you have to send into desmo-porsche. and ne more question if the engine locks me out the only thing that i can use is the code card or can i use the red key
i have all three keys, code card and a big whishes i could send my ecu to reflash...but, i'll save and do something better, get a new ecu and have it reflashed to dp specs...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
hey i have a 2003 monster and wasnt given the code card but was given the red key and two black keys and the little metal plate with numbers on it. what all did you have to send into desmo-porsche. and ne more question if the engine locks me out the only thing that i can use is the code card or can i use the red key
You just send your ECU. The code card unlocks the immobilizer, the red key is for mating the ECU and dash and making new black keys as far as I know.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Well, here is the scoop... keysforducati and sos diagnostics are the same company for what i can tell. i sent my electronics to sos diagnostics (my only black key, ecu, gauge cluster - used w/ broken speedo and the new/used extra one i had but not programmed to my bike). everything went off without a hitch. i sent it insured ups ground, when they got the package it was reprogrammed and turned around in a day. i couldn't wait so i paid a few bucks extra and had them ship it two day ground. i got the package and install everything. put my original key in and my baby roared to life.... i was so proud - like having a child born. anyway, they cut two additional keys for me - one black and one red and they both started the bike as well. the new/used speedo works great except my sprokets are not stock so i think the speed reading is off from my actual speed. The only thing i have not check (nor do i plan to unless necessary) is if the red key will allow me the access/ability to change electrical parts.

I was extremely nervous to do this but in the end it was painless and done for a reasonalbe price. i was quoted $350 in an e-mail but they did say that this service is generally $450. i pointed out the e-mail and thats what i was charged.

hope this post helps some of you out there in a similar situation.

thumbs up - wheels down

bird
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
I was extremely nervous to do this but in the end it was painless and done for a reasonalbe price. i was quoted $350 in an e-mail but they did say that this service is generally $450. i pointed out the e-mail and thats what i was charged.

bird

Sorry, I am not sure what happened with the estimate. If you have any questions, please call me back. We definitely want you to be happy. $450 is the current retail for all keys lost on most models. There is some different pricing depending on the situation (only need red key, only need electronic code, etc).

Happy riding,
Chad
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top