Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am a newbie (just bought my first bike)...I feel the need to get some advice on this...What exactly is it/does it mean? I was talking to the seller of my bike and he said that if I wanted to open the airbox and drop in a K&N filter, the bike might run a bit lean and I would have to re-dyno it...Where would I get that done? And how much does it cost? Thanks! :-/

·
Registered
849 Posts
Simply put, the bike is strapped onto a machine that measures power output accross the rpm band. Then all variables are tuned until the optimum is received. Ideally, you want to find someone who not only has a dyno, but who also has experience tuning your particular bike. Obivously, this has to be (well, should be) done everytime one of the variables such as exhaust, jet kits, chips, etc has been changed.

I've been quoted between $200 and $300 per dyno hour.

-R.

R

·
0 Posts
It's a little more complicated or more simple then dynoing your bike....it depends how you look at it. You can alter the lean condition without a dyno.
A dealer should be able to hook up a mathesis and richen things up for you so the bike would not run terrible....not the best solution perhaps.
There is also a techlusion box you could buy and or a pcIII and download maps for your partiular mod..or replace the ecu with one from FIM with an appropriate map for your mod.
However if you want your bike to run the best it can, a dyno will certainly help you get there.....
Then your choices are either FIM ultimap or pcIII software on a dyno.
http://www.dynojet.com/lbike.shtml
http://www.fuelinmoto.com.au/
There are other ways to invade the system out there but these are the most common....

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #4