Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Ducati Monster 1100 S
62 Posts
Hmmmm, I put a Sargent seat on and did not encounter any issues as you bring forth. Bike is second hand to me and had a fender eliminator or whatever they call it ....

But, I can offer some insight to your dilemma if you wish. I work as a measurement engineer ... so I could collect data from my OEM Ducati seat pan, then get same data from my Sargent seat pan, and if possible give you some meaningful guidance on how to ascertain if your Corbin seat pan was made correctly. Failing the latter, you could send me your seat pan and I could do a forensic measurement investigation. Winter is here soon... so ... if you had credible data to defend a stance that Corbin sold inferior product then a solution might be offered by them. Let me know.

·
Registered
62 Posts
LOL, you are describing a misfit visible by a rotation around some pivot point.
So, it would appear that the two engagement pins are not in correct place.
What we should do is ...
1. I will measure my M1100S seat pan with metrology equipment and then translate the critical points into a measurement that you can do without sending you seat to me.

If, you had access to a laser scanner or any measurement device, we could really nail down the issue. This would be fun!

Plastic is not STEEL!

let me know

·
Registered
62 Posts
my OEM seat pan is in the car and will be measured tomorrow. After that I will reduce the data to terms you can comprehend with a ruler and a few basic tools like scissors, paper, and a plastic protractor.
I have the OEM seat and a Sargent set so I can measure both seat pans ( yes the plastic base is the seat pan.)

·
Registered
62 Posts
I have got to say that the Corbin seat base looks awful. Both of my seat bases look professional, but I do not like the Sargent seat and I must give them drawings to sculpt the foam to my requirements.