Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be dropping my FI 900 lump this week in order to have some work done to it. I haven't pulled a bike motor before, although i'm pretty competent around a garage and will have my dad (another mechanically inclined guy) for help. Anyway, I could use some tips - specifically the sequence of removing stuff to make the process easiest.

Also, given that I've never done this before, how long should this process take?

Thanks
:)

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Take your time label everything you remove and put as many bolts as possible back where you got them after they are removed.

How long depends on you. For me about an hour and a half.

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Oh, and as far as the order

Seat-tank-airbox-carbs/battery-mufflers/exhaust-rear wheel/suspension-engine.

The swingarm can come out with the engine.

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks needtorque. That'll help a lot!

I'm not really concerned about the drop but I always like to ask before I try something new in case there's some common hangup or problem I can avoid.
8)

·
Premium Member
278 Posts
isnt' there some company that makes a tool that keeps the swingarm in place while the motor is out?

May be a thought if you don't have a hoist, or means to hold the bike up.

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
wakaba said:
isnt' there some company that makes a tool that keeps the swingarm in place while the motor is out?

May be a thought if you don't have a hoist, or means to hold the bike up.
Got a link? Sounds interesting, but I'm under time constraints. My motor needs to be shipped out mid-week next week. I may be able to fab something up if I can copy someone else's ingenuity.

needtorque said:
Oh, and instead of carbs that section should read ......-airbox/battery-throttle bodies-........ :-[
understood ;)

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·