Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all--

So I'm brand new at riding, period. I've been having a tough time with my downshifting and was wondering what tips you guys have about downshifting that might make it go smoother. I'm rolling off and clutching before I downshift and then rolling back on before I release the clutch but it's still damn jerky. Any tips?

·
Registered
541 Posts
try letting the clutch out slower and matching the rev's before completely releasing the clutch, work into it slowly. Sounds like your doing it correctly just need to do it slower....more throttle when letting the clutch out might help.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You need to give her more throttle or as we call it "blip" the gas and simultaneous release the clutch. A quick snap of the throttle (to 5K rpm or so) is all you need to match gears. Sport Rider has a how-to article that illustrates all the steps needed to master down shifting and braking.

·
Registered
393 Posts
What is bad about downshifting more than one gear at a time?

About 20% of the time when I come up on a stoplight I end up shifting from 3rd into neutral or into 1st all in one clutching. Is that bad?

·
Registered
166 Posts
As long as there isn't a great speed differential, I don't believe there is any problem.

By great speed differential I mean:

You are going 50mph and anticipate having to stop... you squeeze the clutch and bang down into 1st and coast to a stop with the clutch disengaged (lever squeezed in).

Motorcycle transmissions are constant mesh and all the gears are turning all the time. The selected gear just happens to be the one that is (oversimplified) the one that is directly connecting the engine output shaft to the rear wheel.

For sportriding, good form is always being in the right gear for any giving situation. Try to minimize coasting with the clutch in.

·
Premium Member
838 Posts
Aguacate said: