Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know a way to refinish Carbon?

·
Premium Member
439 Posts
I'm looking into this myself. There's some good info in the FAQ area. It seems not all CF is created equal. I'm no expert, but from my perspective there are a few different possible goals:

- clean an maintain (as in with every wash)
- refresh (say every few years)
- refinish (as opposed to replace or toss)

For the first task, I've read the following:

- Plexus
- 303 Aerospace Protectant
- suntan lotion
- WD-40 (??)
- Lemon Pledge

For the second (refresh) task things a bit vague. I'm unclear on whether or not it's appropriate to use conventional paint polishing compounds/products. Or are "fiberglass" products more appropriate? How about plastic scratch removal systems that are a step beyond Plexus, for example some of the Meguires offerings? Some of the answers might depend on whether or not the piece is clear coated and whether or not it's an exhaust piece.

Yesterday I carefully wet sanded some DP pieces with 1500 wet/dry paper. Some original scratches were not too easy to remove and I was worried about going too far or getting into the weave (not good so I hear). I was left with uniform hazy appearance that would have been a great candidate for a polishing compound. It looked fantastic when wet!! I was unsure if paint compounds were appropriate for CF so I soaked the pieces in 303 for a few hours and then buffed them up. I figured that was a safe path forward. Wow - outstanding results!! A nice dark color and bright shine returned. Still, I'd like to go back and deal with the underlying haze as I suspect the shine will only be temporary. Any suggestions??