Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what do I do now?

we went for a ride today & i was showing one of my fellow riders the new crankcase breather i installed when i noticed there was a film of oil on the rear hugger.

at first i thought it was the breather letting a bit of oil by, but after feeling the breather, it was dry. So i looked closer & $hit, this is what i found.

A cracked casing!!!

What's the go, how can this happen?? It doesen't appear to be loosing anything but a mist of oil. But it's along one of the structural through holes that the engine hangs from the frame by.

Can i weld it up?
What do i do??
has this happened to anyone else?

This is my first attempt at posting pictures. if they don't come out i have uploaded three files,
Case2
Case4
Case5
to the miscellaneous, Crashes & Wrecks, section.

i really hope there's a positive answer to this dilema!!

[http://www.ducatimonster.org/cgi-bin/ImageFolio3/imageFolio.cgi?img=&search=engine&cat=all&bool=and]

[http://www.ducatimonster.org/cgi-bin/ImageFolio3/imageFolio.cgi?img=&search=engine&cat=all&bool=and]

http://www.ducatimonster.org/cgi-bin/ImageFolio3/imageFolio.cgi?img=&search=case&cat=all&bool=and

G

·
was the crashed?
from your other posts sounds like you are a good mechanic.
weld it, my 750 was wrecked when i bought it, and the engine case was cracked in the same spot.
took the engine to the welding shop, made sure the crack was closed up tight.
the welder made sure the weld area didn't get to hot.. so he took his time.
3400mi later everything is fine.. very small wet spot where the cases join above the swing arm pivot.. cases should be split and resealed.

·
Registered
426 Posts