Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys...I need your "professional" opinions.

I am getting my teaching job in the spring, most likely, and as soon as I sign on the dotted line, I'm driving to the nearest Ducati dealership. Great right? Yea, well there's a problem.

I can't decide between an S2R (803) or a 695

I'm a somewhat beginner--been riding for about a year (and a half by the time I buy) but attempting to rack up as many miles as possible. Riding at least 3 days a week (can't always ride due to school/work issues).

So here's some of my thinking and/or what I need...
I want a bike fun to ride around town and that will do well on trips (3 hours or so)
I will most likely mod this bike with clipons, hi mount exhausts, belly pan

I'm 5'4" with no shoes...probably 5'5" with my Setup boots.
I sat on the S2R and i could touch the balls of my feet but would like more foot on the ground.
Wondering if there is a lowering link for the S2R? I know one inch would help significantly.

Ok....
Sooooooo.

I really want the Dark...
Also wondering if there is a possibility of the 695 in a Dark in the future?

I like the styling of the S2r because of the single swing arm, wheels, etc etc.
But I'm wondering if it's too much bike?
Eventhough I just looked up the diff...only 7hp and 11lbs dry weight.

You know, I'm just SUPER bad at decisions and want some pros and cons from people who know whats up.

I will most likely keep this bike for 5 years or more and I already have the mod bug...so part availability is very important.

I am not sure what other info I might have about me and my style that would help.
But...if you think of any other suggestions, and/or questions that would help, let me know.

Thanks for your time! [thumbsup]

·
Premium Member
1,941 Posts
+1 on the 800.

·
Premium Member
838 Posts