Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What say you guys?...sliders on a 620 Monster(my first bike) good idea/bad idea...they basically said they wouldn't do much good...will it possibly save denting the tank? Just looking for some more input thanks.

gnew

·
Premium Member
5,076 Posts
Re: Dealer/Duc mechanic don't recommend sliders...

Frame sliders are a 50/50 proposition. If the bike slides along on pavement, you will save a lot by having them. On the other hand, if the bike hits the dirt while it's still sliding, they will usually cause the bike to flip. I've been on both sides of this stick.

·
Premium Member
5 Posts

I'm also a newbie & considering sliders..... I've got longer legs & am worried I maybe knockin my knee's against 'em.

My thoughts are that if I go down, w/ sliders, I'll have a better chance of a running bike i.e. one w/out the crank case rubbed thru & bleeding oil.....

still pondering w/ appreciate comments ::)

·
Registered
374 Posts

I vote for sliders all the way. Thou unless you replace those cheap a*s stock bars, sliders will most likely not save a dented tank.

Frame sliders, Bar sliders, and even Swingarm sliders are just another form of insurance. I now have Frame and Bar sliders on my 620. Cycle cat all the way.

·
Registered
6,266 Posts

I also advocate the use of Frame Sliders. I have the Cyclecats on my 02 620. Heres a pic of them. Yours of course wont have the bodywork.

·
Registered
374 Posts

I also advocate the use of Frame Sliders. I have the Cyclecats on my 02 620. Heres a pic of them. Yours of course wont have the bodywork.

Dude, that is a 620 monster :eek:. Why on earth would you cloth her like that? :'(

·
Registered
6,266 Posts