Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sometimes my 45,000km '2000 (carb) monster 750 quits running on the vertical cylinder and just runs the horizontal cylinder. Nasty. Simply replacing the vertical cylinder plug gets it firing again.

I'm not an expert or a mechanic, but am doing my best to do all possible Ducati maintenance at home now (M750 is wife's, mine is a Superlight) rather than pay $100/hr - so detailed answers are most welcome. I'm on a learning curve.

* The replaced plug does not look enormously fouled. A little black, but I know it is running a bit rich - jet kit and new needle jet sometime. A good clean makes no difference.
* If I take the plug out and earth it to the engine while ticking the engine over it will show very weak or no spark. A new plug will spark.
* I swapped the coils and ignition 'black boxes' left and right to see if the problem swapped cylinders. It didn't. The problem is still on the
vertical cylinder. (incidentally, problem went away for a little while after that swap, so I thought it may have been dodgy wires or loose connection that I fixed - but it came back)
* I have tried the NGK DPR8-EA9 plugs - same thing after a while. Stock gap.
* I have tried Champion RA4HC (as fitted by ducati workshop) - same thing - gap .6mm. I have just put Champion RA6HC (as specified for the M750 in the haynes manual) to see how it goes but considering the NGK didn't fix it, I'm not sure this will either.
* Multimeter on battery shows 12.45 volts.
* When both cylinders are happily firing there is never any intermittant drop outs, or misfirings or anything.

other info:

* Stock airfilter/carbs - but with termi slip ons.
* not sure if all 750s do it, but this bike is a bit lousy under 3000rpm, shudders at 2200rpm. Figure this is probably worn carbs.
* Got my CarbTune pro (http://www.carbtune.com) yesterday to attempt a carb sync this weekend.

All help/advice appreciated.

Greg.

·