Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
669 Posts
Yes in texas we sometimes get some pretty strong crosswinds ... i usually find myself leaning into the wind ... It's kind of a natural reflex so that i dont get blown off the road. :p

·
Premium Member
206 Posts
Size here is an advantage. My wife hates riding on windy days, I don

·
Premium Member
752 Posts
good topic! i have been dealing with this ever since i started riding a few years back. here in sf, we usually get some strong winds, especially over the bridges, the way i commute. a few things i have noticed:

keep loose on the bars. if you get freaked out and hold the bars too tight you will actually make the effect of cross winds worse.

i tend to keep higher rpms. theory being, if you have a greater rotational mass it will tend to keep you in line, rather that in you are coasting along. (don't know if this is technically true, but it works for me.)

get low. by crouching over the tank, you decrease the "sail" effect of the cross winds trying to knock you over.

grip the tank tightly with your legs ( i have even heard of some folks pointing thier leg into the direction of the wind which helps to countersteer the bike - haven't tried that)

watch out passing semi's or large profile vehicles. you can get hit by some pretty good gusts once you get passed so be prepared.

slow down, but don't coast.

another thing i noticed, was when i had my windscreen on my monster, i felt the effect of cross winds greater, as i think the screen acted like a sail (the effect lessoned once removed). the first day i rode my full faired supersport over the bay bridge, it scred the sh!t outta me, as i wasn't used to that much action on the bike from cross winds. now, i just go with the flow. hope this helps.

·
Registered
2,310 Posts