Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
476 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently ride a 2000 Yamaha YZF600R, which is a terrific motorcycle. I'm seriously thinking of ditching it though, for something slower, less reliable, less efficient, and more expensive.

My reasons are many, and I guess i'm really here to ask if it's a bad choice.

I really like the styling, and not just of the motorcycle. I really like the vintage look of the Monster, and i'd much rather wear a vintage cafe-racer style jacket than bright colored leathers that make me look like a NASCAR guy.

Going fast is less of my thing than it used to be. Granted, i'm only 24, but I guess i've outgrown it. I'm a medical student, work in a trauma center, and I see all too often the consequences of an over-eager right hand. A slower bike is fine by me.

Also, even without a windscreen, i'm thinking a more upright riding position will be more comfortable.

What do you guys and gals think?

I've done a bunch of searches, and I still have a few questions about riding a Monster...

1) How are the ergos of the 695 for a tall rider? I'm 6'2" and the YZF is pretty accomodating, much more so than my roomate's CBR600RR. I definitely love riding, and I commute on my bike, so comfort is a plus.

2) How bad is the cornering clearance with low mount pipes? I love cornering, and love the way the low mount pipes look too! However, i'm scared about scraping very expensive exhaust pipes if I get a little too agressive.

3) How does the 695 do on long trips? One of my favorite things to do is to take a random ride someplace to visit people. I might go from Central NY to Boston, or Providence, or Baltimore, etc. The YZF600R is very uncomfortable after a couple of hours in the saddle. What about a Monster?

Many more as I think of them! Thank you in advance, and nice meeting you all!

·
Registered
476 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ooh, a couple more!