Votes: 0 0.0%
  • The price is appropriate for the add-ons

Votes: 2 25.0%
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this sort of post is common and aggravating, but I would really like feedback from owners of this motorcycle.

I'm about to pull the trigger on a 2006 S2R1000. The dealership wants $6,700 which is higher than the book value. However, it has add-ons galore. After market higher risers, full Zard exhaust, open clutch cover, CF fly-screen, CF fenders, sliders, steering stabilizer (on the left hand side attached to the frame?!), and a host of others.

I'm excited about this bike. Since I was an undergrad I've dreamed of owning a Duc, albeit I wanted a 996 or 998. However, having owned an SV650N, I've come to love the naked bikes. Now that I'm finally finished with school I've been looking to start riding again and can't believe that a Duc is actually obtainable. The problem is that I'm 6'4" and 250 lbs. All of my friends ride cruisers and I would like to ride with them for extended periods (1/2 day to 2 days). I just can't bring myself to buy a cruiser, despite my physical proportions. They just bore me. Still, the SV650 got miserable for me after about an hour because of the clip-ons I had on it. With the higher risers the S2R seemed much more comfortable. I know I can get a tail bag and tank bag for it, although side bags might be tough with the placement of the exhaust.

I want to know, are there any big guys or gals who aren't miserable on this thing after four hours? Also, any thoughts on the price? The dealership originally wanted $8K for it and when I called the sales guy with the book price he took it down to $6,700. Is this unreasonable for this bike? I could get a new 696 for $8K, but it's much smaller.

·
Premium Member
163 Posts