Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

New member here. I am considering trading my MV Agusta Brutale 800 Dragster RR for a 2020 Monster 1200 S. I am here in Houston, TX USA. Key reason: I wish to have a dealer again, a meaningful warranty, parts and service, etc. MV closed shop here 2 years ago.

A classic question for the Monster 1200 S owners: would you buy the bike again? Happy? Or not? All comments welcome. Much thanks in advance!

I have been riding since 1967, and am a 66 year old, but still like fast Italian bikes. I also like compact bikes with torque, and naked machines and also reliability. The Monster 1200 S seems to check all my boxes. Before I get really serious with test rides, I wish to query the owners.

·
Registered
28 Posts
I would buy the Monster 1200s again most definitely. The torque this 1198 11⁰ is insane. I have full Termi system, MWR filter and a Rapid Bike Evo. In 4 gear it will start lifting the front wheel.
Handles like its on rails. Comfortable for a 3 or 4 hour ride.
Has that Italian sex appeal and Ducati is the best sounding bike on the planet.
Saying that. I also love the Brutale Dragstar RR. But the torque of the 1198 kills the MV

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would buy the Monster 1200s again most definitely.

Saying that. I also love the Brutale Dragstar RR. But the torque of the 1198 kills the MV
Matt,

Thank you very much for your expert, owner comments! I am glad to find some enthusiasm for the Monster 1200S.
Your comment on comfort is especially helpful, as I am 66 years old.

Love my Dragster RR, but with no dealer parts/service/expertise in the Houston, TX USA area: keeping it running is really difficult and or expensive. We have two good Ducati dealers in town.

May I ask: how has initial reliability of your Monster been? Any major problems?

ride safe!

·
Registered
28 Posts