Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts
M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a relatively new rider. Riding an m620 I picked up in june with 3K miles. I just started playing with clutchless upshifting, and have a few questions.

When should I use it? Can I do damage?
Do experienced riders use it most of the time especially in upper gears?
What's the appropriate technique?

Sometimes it's smoother than others. Am I doing damage when it clunks in rather than ticks in? I don't force it.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
if done properly, i don't think you'll be damaging the tranny at all, and you'll actually be saving clutch wear obviously.
i've been using the clutch less and less in my daily riding. shifting up and down.
to upshift, get to whatever revs you think are appropriate to get to the next gear. apply a bit of pressure onto the gear shift lever in direction of next uppper gear. quickly back-off the throttle about a 1/4 to 1/2 turn and you'll feel the shift lever snick into the next gear position. quickly get back on the gas to the same position you were in before and the bike will accellerate smoothly. it'll feel kinda jerky initially but if you can do this all in a fluid progress, it'll feel buttery smooth rowing up the gears!

downshifting (this seemed SO unnatural to me until i tried it), while in lower revs, apply a bit of pressure onto the gear shift lever in direction of lower gear. quickly give the throttle a 1/4 - 1/2 turn MORE gas and you'll feel the lever snick into the next lower gear. keep the throttle consistent so that the revs match the wheel speed.

in both cases, when you apply pressure on the lever, keep it consistent and firm. if you're wishy-washy with the pressure you put on the lever through the process, you'll likely wind up between gears in a "false neutral".

as always when experimenting, don't do this in heavy traffic. quiet, safe street with predicatble conditions.

·
Premium Member
694 Posts