Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an aerospace engineer. Carbon fiber composites are wonderful structural materials. On bikes and cars they are being used as trim.

What's the attraction?

-Don

·
Registered
3,755 Posts
It's lighter trim!

Besides, it looks cool ;D

Seriously though, consider a fairing on a bike. It has to be rigid enough to hold it's aerodynamic shap at high speed and, if you're racing, it has to be light. CF has the structural rigidity necessary and is lighter than Aluminum, fiberglass or plastic.

Non race bikes? It's bling. We know that. But it's appeal is based on real utility on race bikes.

M

·
0 Posts
man the word "bling" sure has made it deep into the american vocabulary.

I think the attraction to CF is simple, it just looks good.

It might be asked why do harley riders insist on slapping chrome on everything within reach, and some parts that are not?

·
Registered
196 Posts
Too much of a good thing can be bad. Please use in moderation are good words to live by, well at least for carbon "bling".
Buz.

M

·
0 Posts
Carbon and Titanium are like crack for those that still want to dump weight and have no personal flesh-poundage to lose....power-to-weight ratio can be a dreadfully expensive addiction

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
I like the look of carbon, especially with my yellow bike.

I agree that is mostly a trickle-down asthetic from race bikes, but even there it is mostly for weight savings.

Ever seen a Ducati Supermono up close? They use carbon structurally - rear subframe, footpeg/brackets. Of course, the Supermono is an EXPENSIVE race bike.

H

·
0 Posts
Carbon and Titanium are like crack for those that still want to dump weight and have no personal flesh-poundage to lose....power-to-weight ratio can be a dreadfully expensive addiction