Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I am new to ducatimonster.org and new to bikes. I just took the MSF course this past weekend, my first time really riding, and I am hooked. I live in NYC and know the winter is coming up but am ready to buy. I am dead set on a monster in the next few months and am beginning to look at used. Is there anything I should look for when inspecting bikes? I am engine illiterate and could use any common tips/ advice for a novice. Thanks so much.

I am happy to be part of the board

JM.

·
Premium Member
1,787 Posts
hi JM, that is great to hear!

I was in your situation this time last year and bought a used Monster as my first bike... and it's been great!

You'll get a lot of good info here and advice, no doubt. When I was shopping for my bike I used this guide

http://www.clarity.net/~adam/buying-bike.html

It's pretty thorough, and you can skim through it to get an idea for the basics. On a used Monster you'll be looking out for the same things as on any motorcycle really.

Be sure to let us know when you find one you like!

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks so much factor.

Can't believe how quick the reply time on the board is. I can tell already this is going to be great.
In just a quick skim I found your link helpful.

·
Premium Member
1,787 Posts
jmoses said:
Thanks so much factor.

Can't believe how quick the reply time on the board is. I can tell already this is going to be great.
In just a quick skim I found your link helpful.
No prob dude. When I'm vegging in front of the LCD with a Mickey's in one hand and no date on a Friday night, it's pretty easy to keep up with the new posts.

;D

Le Pirate makes an excellent point. If your bike to be is 6000+ on the odo, you'll want to know that the service has been done at the recommended intervals.

·
Registered
541 Posts
I payed 5k for my 02' two years ago.

·
Registered
294 Posts