Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi

I’m here to seek advice on a purchase from more experienced riders. I have set my sights on a couple of monsters. However, given the information I have, it has been difficult to make up my mind on which one to actually buy.

As a starter, I’m about 80 kilos and 180cm. I wouldn’t call myself a complete rookie, but I have limited riding experience. This would be my first V2 bike.
I shall be riding mostly for leisure within city limits and nearby the city with occasional commutes between towns (some 130km). Having said that, the city that I live in has a population of 500k, so it isn’t exactly a metropolis. Also, unless I fall in love with the bike, I may not keep it for a very long time, so the easier to sell the bike the better for me. Reliability is very important. I like when things work in perfect condition.

By budget is between 4000-4500euros. (5200-5800 USD)

And the bikes that are on the menu are as follows:

*2007 Monster 695 ( 23k km) – The good: It comes in all black finish and as far as I can tell seems to be mechanically fit and well serviced. Comes with a short warranty. Handles like a charm.

The bad: It is completely stock with no extras like the rear seat cover or wind deflector etc. People say that in a while I shall grow tired of the lack of power the engine produces and will regret not buying a bit more powerful bike to begin with.

4k euros (5166 USD)

http://www.auto24.ee/used/956008

*2004 Monster S4R (23k km) – The good: I absolutely love the looks. This would be the bike I dream myself riding on. It seems well serviced. Will come with a short warranty and discount. Seems to be good value for money. I imagine it would be a quite easy bike to sell. It has plenty of power for the future. Top of the line model.