Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys and gals, just wondering what you would all suggest in this price range for a helmet. Ive been using the Shoei brand, but its an old helmet, my dads from ages ago, and was thinking its time to upgrade. Any ideas? I was thinking the HJC carbon one, but im not an expert when it comes to helmet details.. any tips?

thanks!

·
Registered
124 Posts
Go to your local and try them all on. Even the ones slightly out of your budget.

Then, try newenough.com to get them for less.

If your local has the same one at close to the same price, pick them up from the local. Otherwise, order from newenough.

·
Registered
1,660 Posts
How old is the one you've been using? I've noticed the new Shoeis don't fit quite the same as the ones from the early 90s. Still, a lot of people like the Shoei RF-1000. Scorpions get good reviews from nearly everyone I've talked to as well.

Still, I feel that comfort is most important since pretty much all helmets rated DOT and SNELL (I always get both) are equally safe regardless of price. I even got a cheap HJC DOT and SNELL rated for $80 and it still fit pretty well and felt better than my dad's old RF-700 from '91. Do like slowpoke says: go to a local store and just start trying everything on. Try on the mid-grade helmet of all the more expensive brands (Shoei and Arai) and then try on the top level helmets of the lower priced brands like Icon and HJC and see which you like. Prices on line tend to be a little lower than prices in the store.

·
Premium Member
522 Posts
I prefer Italian lids (Suomy/AGV/X-Lite - got 'em all) and Arais but don't let price/brand dictate what you get. Generally, you do get what you pay for - but focus on overall quality, fit/finish and value. Look for DOT/Snell rating. But really add all that together plus "looks" (its gotta look good too you) and go for it.