Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tried searching and didn't find a thread about people who want to relocate from cold to warmer climates for more riding. If there is one, please tell me and I apologize.

My husband and I don't have children so that we can have bikes and dogs and a cheap hunk of hobby farm land in the heart of twisty western Wisconsin. Obviously, our odometers are about half the count of anyone else in the U.S. and the winters are just brutal, especially for me, a native Californian and Duc owner.

He's an import mechanic, and I'm a freelance writer and I've done plenty of corporate marketing work. We're both politically left, although he is waaaay left and enjoys his firearms. I am the kind of left who just wants to be left alone and doesn't mind paying taxes so that we can ALL live comfortably.

Except for the Satanic stuff, we're not religious. [cheeky]

California is out, unless it's waaay out -- like cheap. My family is all in the Bay Area and I can't afford to move back there and don't want to work 24/7 just to have a shack in the woods. The South is mostly out because heat blows.

Can anyone recommend a good city/state for sportbike riding and slacker living?

What we'd like:

1. Twisties
2. Good coffee
3. Inexpensive, with possible hobby farm life
4. Progressive communities
5. Other sportbike people
6. Sushi within 50 miles
7. 2" maximum snowfall

Right now, we're looking at Salt Lake City (i know, but i hear it's worth it), North Carolina (?), and Italy.

Thank you so much for taking some time to cheerlead your city or the place you dream of living,

Sari

P.S. Please don't yell at me if I posted in the wrong place. I usually stay in MADDOG and don't venture out much.

·
Registered
51 Posts