Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Stupid question maybe but I'm new to Duc ownership. Do any of you utlize a batt tender or add Stabil to their fuel? I keep my Duc in the garage as I do my other bikes. I still ride them in the winter months around here, just not as often, but also make it a point to start it up at least once a week if I don't ride. I keep the tanks full in the winter months to prevent build-up/moisture. Any other tips?

Thanks.

·
Registered
682 Posts
I use a Battery Tender year around and if you ride your bike at lease every 4 weeks or so you don't need the Stabil. I think gas has to sit for something like 3 months before it starts gumming up things. But with that said I'll probably adds some Stabil if I know my bike will sit for a month this winter. Cheap insurance.

·
Registered
4,897 Posts
I think you've got it, i use a tender too, just not that often as i usually get the bike out for a good ride at least once a week.

as for the stabil, you might want to just go to some seafoam instead as someone on the main board suggested. I always have a can of that stuff around and it never sits that long on the shelf. With stabil, it's a pretty specialized use so you don't end up using it a lot, the seafoam won't stay on the shelf for long...

·
Premium Member
2,369 Posts
Like Jones I have several bikes and every single one of them has a Battery Tender plug jack wired to them. Everytime I park a bike at home I lock it up and plug in the Battery Tender, everytime. They are wonderful, I have a charger for every bike.