Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for some input from you fellow riders, to help me pick out an appropriate next ride.

I started riding this year in May. took the safety course, bought a 250 ninja. the bike was good but it buzzed something awfull. i also felt that it was not powerful enough to get me out of a jam. I have put 2,500 miles on the ninja. next bike, bandit 600. smooth, but still a buzz at highway speeds, annoying but can live with. I have put 2,500 miles so far on the bandit. last month in Florida, rented a h-d road king, put 500 miles on in two days. lots of fun, no buzz, just throbbing vibration, can deal with it.

I feel i have enough confidence in my skills and experience to step up and get a larger bike. I drive with caution, im in for the long haul, not to be driven over by a long hauler :eek:.

last weekend i was at the toronto m/c show and saw, sat on and felt the 800 monster, felt good. i also, saw the 1000, but stupit me i didn't sit on it., I'm guessing the riding position and ergonomics are the same???

I'm 5:10, 190lbs, 39 years old. i like to ride, looking for a good looking comfy bike that i tool around on, some hyway, some city riding.

my wish list:
monster 1000
monster 800
yamaha fz1
yamaha st1300
kawasaki z1000
kawasaki mean streak 1600
h/d electra glide standard
bmw r1150rt

main point is comfort, no buzzyness, ride all day. I'm on the edge of saying sport-tourer, but a close alternative is cool 8).

now that i've put some thoughts down, your opinions are welcomed.

have a good, safe, fun ride today!

Johnny

·
Banned
3,931 Posts
Both size of Monsters should fit you exactly the same. The only other one on your list that I would consider is the FZ1.

If you're really leaning towards sport touring, you should consider the Ducati Multistrada. It's not the top of any one class, but for a good all around bike that you can tour on it does everything very well.