Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have arrow slip ons with the cat, just got a mid pipe and was wondering if i will need to get a new ecu and tune if i get rid of the udder?. my guess it'll run fine, anyone else do this, i dont have any airbox mods. its on a s2r800

·
Premium Member
201 Posts
I have arrow slip ons with the cat, just got a mid pipe and was wondering if i will need to get a new ecu and tune if i get rid of the udder?. my guess it'll run fine, anyone else do this, i dont have any airbox mods. its on a s2r800
I did not have good luck with the midpipe. My '06 S2R popped like hell on decel with it installed. I'm told the popping is a sign of lean fuel/air mixture (result of less back pressure from the modified exhaust system) and over time this can affect (shorten) life of your valve guides. This seems like sound reasoning but I confess I'm no expert. The dealer suggested installing a Power Commander III which was about $600 with configuration / mapping at the time. I didn't want to spend that much and took a pass. I've been running Arrow slip ons only and it runs great with no popping.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yea thats what i was afraid of, down the line I am planning on a powercommander/airbox and such but as of now just wanted to see if it can work with just the midpipe. i try it out anyways for a bit, run it for a week or so and then if it's giving me hell then ill just take it off and save it for the future.

·
Registered
8 Posts
yea thats what i was afraid of, down the line I am planning on a powercommander/airbox and such but as of now just wanted to see if it can work with just the midpipe. i try it out anyways for a bit, run it for a week or so and then if it's giving me hell then ill just take it off and save it for the future.