Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
1,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a carpenter/contractor from central California, and I'm moving to the Jackson Wyoming area this month becuase of work opportunities. I must say the weather scares the **** out me. I'm used to shorts and sandles and not so sure I can handle it. [laugh]

If you do, what kind of cold weather work gear do you wear? And are you still unbearably cold?

·
Registered
118 Posts
I used to work in the field.....My suggestion would be to get some carhartts. A jacket and a set of bibs. I had insulated bibs and only wore them when it was real bad, 20's and lower for the high. I can't express enough that you should dress in layers..... a t-shirt then a long sleeve t shirt then a long sleeve shirt and then your jacket. I used a hard hat liner in my rookie days, but they are pretty bulky so I just ended up using a stocking cap and a bandanna under that. It is a real good idea to have a complete set of clothes in the car for those days that you get wet. Oh yea, long underwear are good if you can wear them - they bugged the $h1t out of me!

alway have at least three pair of gloves. they always get wet

good luck on staying warm!

If can give some final words....You can always take it off, but you can not wish it on. ;)

·
Banned
1,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply PanDUC. My good friend and business parter that moved up there five years ago also recommends layers. He said the weather can change one minute to the next. I just got the Duluth Trading Company catalogue and may be sending some serious money their way.

I have a family history of arthritis in my hands, elbows, and feet. What the hell, it's a new adventure.

·
Registered
118 Posts