Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had the Monster Dynoed last year and stored it till now..Still runs like a pig.
Today i went for run and as the kilo`s pass by the Monster started with the normal surging at normal speeds..(Just installed new plugs )
By the time i JUST got home the bike was running on half a cyclinder (A Scooter went pass me ) ..During the trip i poped the plugs off and found they had both had heavy black soot , and i noticed the vertical cylinder was worse and the exhaust was cooler as well..
When new plugs are fitted ( KLG ) the bike runs better and gives full throttle,but on cruising speeds it still surgers badly.. If i let it idle too long it fowls the plugs pretty quickly with alot of Backfiring and flames shoot out of the exhaust.. Tried playing with the mixture screws but with no luck..has strong spark..Nothing makes sense..I am a Motor mechanic but this problem is getting to the better of me..Hense getting it Dyno Tuned ..Same thing, ran great at first then back firing,sooty plugs and surging at cruising speeds..???
The bike has only done 15,00 Kilo`s

Cheers
Kevin

·
Registered
35 Posts
Hi Kevin,

I too recently was having exactly the issues you are describing. And, yes, it was carburettion (but I think you already know that).

When you got it dynoed, did they actually replace anything in the carbs or just tweak the mixture screws as well? If it made no difference then perhaps they did not.

How many turns out are your mixture screws at the moment?

My electrics looked good too - A visual spark check looked good and testing the coils shows they were likely to be okay. To help diagnosis for coils/ignition controllers I simply swapped them left and right to see if the issue swapped cylinder. I didn't.