Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new to 2 wheels - ride a 250cc vespa scooter in manhattan(quite an adventure) looking to get a new monster - for city comute and for some longer trips ( 1-2 hrs) to NJ, upstate and long island- will keep the vespa untill i get safe and comfortable on the duc- which bike do you all reccomend- cost is less of an issue than safety. thanks

·
Registered
650 Posts
Its more of a personal preference really. The 800 has a lighter clutch pull and a bit less power than the 1000, but the 1000 has better brakes and adjustable front forks. Both will get you into trouble if you don't have good throttle control.

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
what he ^ said.

the 800 is more than adequate (especially with a 14 tooth front sprocket) as far as power goes, the 1000 even more so.

·
Registered
781 Posts
I grew up around bikes and my 800 is plenty fast. Not that I don't want to make it faster, but that's half the fun of it. [thumbsup]

·
Premium Member
353 Posts
The increased torque of the 1000 in traffic could make for a little less clutching and shifting.

As noted, with either bike if you're riding a lot in city traffic the 14 tooth counter shaft sprocket would be a big improvement over the stock 15.

·
Premium Member
219 Posts
If you are new to bikes go with the 800. It has less power and lower end parts, but is for sure a great bike. The city is hard on bikes so spending
less for the 800 might be a good idea anyway. [thumbsup]

·
Registered
5 Posts