Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering buying an 09 Monster, and I was wondering how big the power difference is from the 696 to the 1100. I'm not a newbie, but I don't have years of experience either. I don't want to drop the money on a 696 only to get bored. Any insight?

·
Registered
225 Posts

Test ride them both.

The 1100 has a bunch more low end, both have about the same top speed, and both handle better than most. I am far from a new rider but with the lighter weight, lower seat height, ECU &exhaust swap, and gearing change, prefer the much higher red line and more linear power delivery of the 696 for my riding style. I only use it for around town and back road blasting so being able to ride the 696 at 90% most of the time works better for me. If it was my only bike (I have 5) and was going to run the highway, it would have been the 1100. Only you know what you want and how you will use the bike. First thing to remember when looking at a Ducati is that there is much more to a motorcycle than published HP.

·
Premium Member
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Test ride them both.

The 1100 has a bunch more low end, both have about the same top speed, and both handle better than most. I am far from a new rider but with the lighter weight, lower seat height, ECU &exhaust swap, and gearing change, prefer the much higher red line and more linear power delivery of the 696 for my riding style. I only use it for around town and back road blasting so being able to ride the 696 at 90% most of the time works better for me. If it was my only bike (I have 5) and was going to run the highway, it would have been the 1100. Only you know what you want and how you will use the bike. First thing to remember when looking at a Ducati is that there is much more to a motorcycle than published HP.