Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My '09 Monster 696 has a leaking fuel injector, so I'd like to rebuild it as replacing is far out of the budget. There are quite a few rebuild kits online but I'd like to know if anyone has any experience rebuilding these Bosch fuel injectors to point me to which kit to get.

The second item on the list is going to be swapping the $130.00 USD each idler bearings for standard off the shelf bearings. I'm no bearing expert by any means, I haven't called a bearing supplier yet, but does anyone know what the critical specs I need are? IE rated speed, dynamic radial load, thrust force requirements. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Additionally, The bike seems to do a really strange double fire once every couple of weeks. IE piston 1 is in power stroke, then piston 2 goes off mid combustion of piston 1 and abruptly bleeds a ton of power from piston 1. Not sure if this is a detonation issue or just the leaky fuel injector causing this, but I have dropped to 29 MPG from 51, so I think that may be the issue. Either way, the dealer was no help at all. They said that my bike was the highest mileage monster in the state and they didn't even know what to do with it. All of the manuals stop at 20k miles and Ducati does not expect monsters to go more than 15k in their lifetime.