Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This old dinosaur has ridden old British twins and singles for over 40 years. The common consensus from all the 'lists' I am on is that the normal range of oil temperatures for these air cooled, dry sump engines is 125 to 200 degrees Fahrenheit.

My new Ducati owners manual seems to indicate the normal temperature range is @ 230 to 345 degrees F and actually does not give a warning until over 390 degrees F. This sounds extremely hot to me.
Out of curiosity I was wondering if these types of temperatures are really the norm in these modern bikes. Comments solicited.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I'm new to Ducati with an '09 M1100S purchased a few months ago, coming over from BMW. The same question/concern crossed my mind while going through the owners manual. I'm interested to see what the experienced members have to say regarding this subject.

·
Registered
335 Posts
That may be one reason that Ducati recommends synthetic oil, as it resists breakdown from heat much better than conventional oils. When my 696 had under 3000 miles on it, the oil temp would occasionally get to the 4-bar mark, but now that the bike has over 6000 miles I haven't seen 4 bars in a long time. 99 percent of the time it is at 3 bars.

·
Registered
197 Posts
living in washington, d.c. it gets hot in summer. i had the DP oil cooler fitted to the 696 and it really helped with temperature - running at 3 bars unless in very slow/standstill traffic.

once the bike had 3,000 miles on it, that also seemed to help.

i have a 'new' 1100S with 1,500 miles on it, and she is running regularly at 4 bars.
i plan on changing the oil & filter every 2,500 miles.

·
Registered
145 Posts
You just need to add an oil cooler to the 696. It should have had one on there stock as far as I am concerned.

·
Registered
313 Posts