Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2001 M750 with 10,800 miles on it. No upgrades other than a 14 tooth front sprocket. The bike is not under warranty. I am not a newb when it comes to maintenance and repair, but I'm no mechanic either. I would like to fix the problem myself but lack a good place to perform any kind of maintenance (crazy apartment management) but will find a place to do so if any of you can help diagnose the problem :) . So on to the issue:

Lately while riding the bike to work, about 20 miles/minutes I have felt the bike almost die for a few seconds. When this happens the tach indicates 0 RPM but he speedo still indicates the "correct" speed. The engine will still respond to throttle input but only with about 1/10 of the usual power. The sound also changes to a muffled/restricted air flow sound. Then the bike will all of a sudden kick back in and work as advertised. The problem will last for a few seconds at most. Yesterday the same problem popped up and lasted for much longer, long enough for me to slow down and get off the highway. I checked the tach cable and other superficial stuff, found nothing. The bike started up fine after sitting for a couple of minutes.

I was wondering if anyone can give some insight as to where to start. I thought it odd that the engine and tach would react this way togeather. I did use the search function and did not find anything with the same type of problem. Thanks in advance for any input.
Bob ;)

·
Registered
45,105 Posts
You are having a loss of primary ignition if your tack is loosing it's signal at the same time. The tow most probable causes are the safety (sidestand) relay or a break in a wire coming down the stearing head.

·
Registered
1,357 Posts