Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post, and i'm new to Ducatis. A lot of experience with 70's UJMs.

I've had this bike for nearly 12 months, and when I bought it I had a local mechanic give the once over. it was running a little rough, and was hard to start. He told me it needed to be run and after giving it some k's it seemed to come good. It had 45,000K on the clock when I got it. I've added another 5k, and it's run well as far I can tell. Quite different to an inline four, but never low on power anywhere in the rev range. The clutch that everyone complains about is way easier to handle than the cable operated clutch on my GS1000.

Recently it started to miss on one cylinder at low revs, and would take a while to warm up. Last week it started to misfire on one cylinder at anything below around 4k rpm.

I've done all of the ignition system checks that you can do with a multimeter. I pulled the plugs last night and they were very dirty, black and a bit oily. I have cranked the engine a bit without starting it. They were NGK DCPR8E. I'd bought some NGK BRP8EA-9 on the basis of reading recommendations on this forum.

I've also got some new belts that I'll fit, and I might even have a go at checking the valve clearances. That looks interesting, although not as much of a pain as the shim under bucket on my z650s!

Assuming that the ignition system is okay, I'm assuming that I'll need to pull the carbs next and at least give them a clean. Anything else I should be looking for or aware of? It's running a stock airbox with a K&N filter. Staintune cans on low exhausts.

Thanks for any suggestions.

·
Registered
117 Posts
I have a 2000 model 900ie,
yes, a bit different from carb models but suffered the same problem with fouling plugs.
you say plugs black, sooty and oily (probably wet) a sign of over rich mixtures.