Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
good morning,
I am new to this post and a hopefull Ducati Owner. I am not terribly familiar with Ducati's but know that I want to own one. I am currently looking to buy a used 2000 Ducati Monster Special. The dealer states that it's a 900 special. I have not looked at the bike yet (I will tomorrow) but Looking at the models for that year I know that Ducati made a 900, 900 Dark and 900 Special. My question is this- by looking/inspecting the bike how can I tell that it's a special vs' a regular Monster? is there some ID plate that states it? markings etc? I am not much concerned as far which is better but I just want to make sure that I get what I pay for. Additionally, There is a marked difference in price (KBB)($600) between the two, so again, I want to make sure I am getting the right deal.
thank for your time.

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Most important, a 2000 M900S should also have a rear Ohlins shock.. IMO one of the best years for the M900S..

·
Premium Member
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks, I appreciate the suggestions. I will look for those items tomorrow. So as far as anyone knows there are no specific markings on the frame that will state 900S or special?
thanks

·
Premium Member
189 Posts
It also comes with CF front and rear guard. Some 2000 900s comes with sachs instead of ohlins shocks in the rear.

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
In the US in 2000, there were two versions offered in red or yellow. A M900S ie and a M900 ie. Can't remember if the "metalics" were 01 or 02 but they spec'd out same as base model. To the best of my knowledge all the S models in 2000 should have come with Ohlins rear not Sachs.