Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I recently bought an 03 Ducati Monster 620ie and I'm a complete novice to any mechanical work. I've been having issues where my bike was bogging down on full throttle or quick acceleration (but not when I was gradually accelerating). It only has 1500 miles per the previous owner. Bike turned on fine before i did the following.

The air filter is fine. I used the hex tool in the bike to take out and inspect both the spark plugs. I took the top/vertical plug out, inspected it (was black and had an orange gradient) and screwed it back on with my hand and then tried to use the hex tool to do a half turn but it wouldn't turn more. I turned on the bike and it seemed like it was misfiring. So I checked the bottom spark plug (it was black and had black oil in its threads - thinking this is related to the bogging issue?). I put it back with the hex and then after it sat snug, it wouldn't do the half turn that the manual recommends. When I tried to turn the bike on, it would take a long time to turn on even with choke on high and would crank but there wasn't any spark.

I'm getting new plugs tomorrow. I'm hoping the new plugs would help but I would love to hear y'alls thoughts on what could've gone wrong. The bare minimum I want with the bike is to have it work for 15 mins so I can take it to the closest Shop.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Sounds like the plugs are fouled. Hope your correct in your diagnosis and the new plugs start it up. There is probably another issue to address if it has oil on the plug. Does it smoke when it runs? It could just be running too rich and may appear to be oil.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It has never smoked when it ran. Though I've smelled gas multiple times when riding and when parking it in the garage.

The bike started up fine before I pulled out inspected the plugs.