Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

My first new thread! I am planing on purchasing my first Monster soon. I have already decided that it's the bike for me... now just a question of which one. I'm getting back into motorcylcing after 20 years away. I considered getting a "re-learner bike" first like an SV650 or such but my heart will not be satisfied with anything but a Monster so I'm just going for it.

Here's the question: I've found locally for sale for about $5,000 each and each with about 8K miles on the clock:

an '01 S4 pretty much bone stock

-or-

a '99 M900 with a Fast By Ferracci 944 big bore kit, lots of Carbon fiber pieces, Full Forza Exhaust, new Shorai Lithium Iron Lightweight Battery, Corbin Seat, Olin Steering Damper, and Chopped Tail.

Both bikes look well cared for and maintained at local trusted Ducati Dealer. Neither ever dropped. Both clean title.

I am a decent shade tree mechanic and plan on doing my own work (mostly).

All other things being equal, any recommendations one or the other?

Thanks for any input! - Phil

·
Premium Member
3,593 Posts
S4 is an amazing machine.

The 900/944 will be easier and cheaper to maintain. Less valves, no coolant.

The S4 will be the smaller 916 vs the 998 of the later models and a bit less horsepower as a result. So at least it's not the worst Monster to choose for your first bike back.

I absolutely adore my S4RS. I've not ridden a S4 so I can't compare them. I do know that while my Tricolore has been occupying dealer service space, I found my 1000DS engined Paul Smart Sport Classic to lack all that torque that makes me get all child like when I describe my S4RS.

It would be a tough call as the early S4 looks closer to a M900 than the later S4R with the single sided swingarm.

·
Registered
847 Posts
Subtle Differences