Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

what tools should I carry? tire inflation kit?

3K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  mattyvas 
#1 ·
Hello folks,

you may be aware that I'm new to this sport....so onto newbie question no. 127:

What tools should I carry on my big for journeys greater than commuting?

Tire inflation and repair? any brands recommended?

Or should I just join the RACV and carry a mobile...and perhaps the name & number of a towing company if I get stranded? What is the strategy here?

Thanks in advance.

Spider

#2 ·
Spider,

I'm a newbie myself, so can't advise on the tyre inflation kit ???
One thing I have found handy is a multi-tool thingo I got from the local Magnet Mart. Its made by Bahco and has the serial number bke850901 written on it. The tool has:

2,2.5,3,4,5,6 &8mm allen keys
phillips and flat screw driver, 1/4 inch square drive, 8,9 &10 mm sockets. 9,13 and 14 mm spanners. It is well made, fits most stuff on a Duke, and fits in the palm of your hand. [thumbsup]

I think its supposed to be made for pushies, but it works just fine on real bikes too. Comes in its own little nylon pouch as well, and cost me $20. Its the best all-rounder I have seen. Most of the other multi tools for bikes are from the US, and don't have the sort of stuff you need for a Duke, like metric sockets and allen keys etc. Cheers, ducsport

#3 ·
Good advice that is.
I just kitted my tube up that is under my Sargent seat.
Got a repair kit, put my bike tool in, a couple of drivers, spanners, allen keys.
Bought a cheap pushie pump and velcroed it to the frame under seat.
I know it wouldn't be easy pumping but it's just to get you by.

Then there's always the mobile and a friend with a van/trailer....

cheers
Matty...

#4 ·
The Spider said:
...carry a mobile...and...the name & number of a towing company...