Hello - Ducati Monster Forums: Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Rdcastro
  • 1 Post By BudDaytonMon

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-16-2018, 03:08 PM Thread Starter

Hello

Just got a 2012 Ducati 696 Monster with 1,000 miles for my birthday, however I have no riding experience😬
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-16-2018, 03:16 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
Welcome! Highly recommend you take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic Rider Course. https://www.msf-usa.org/BRC.aspx

'04 Monster 1000S - Sold
'05 Ducati 749S/924S - Track Bike
'14 MV Agusta Rivale 800 EAS ABS
'16 Aprilia Tuono V4 1100 Factory ABS
'16 Norton Commando 961 SF
'19 SWM SM 500 R Supermoto
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-16-2018, 05:31 PM Thread Starter

I actually took the CMSP this weekend and I passed, however I didn’t do so well on the range, but like said I passed so not to bad for never being on a bike. That being said I know I’m nowhere near getting on my bike. Next is getting my permit and practicing in a parking lot till I feel I’m ready and comfortable to be in the street. Do you have any advise for me, because I love my bike, but I’m also terrified of it. From what I researched everything says that a Ducati is not good for a beginner. I’m extremely safe and cautious, maybe a little too much so I know I wouldn’t do anything stupid on it, I just want to be comfortable and know I can control it. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-16-2018, 09:20 PM

Garage
Firstly, well done for being so honest.
In such a macho past time, it's difficult feeling to find an honest person to help you learn and get advice from.
Bare with me. I have some things to say

The issue is nerves, not your ability or your bike.

That monster is a damn perfect bike to learn on. How lucky you are.
It's safe, reliable, and right in the middle of a power bracket.