Mushy rear brake even after bleeding. - Ducati Monster Forums: Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By DenverKirk

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 11:49 PM Thread Starter

Mushy rear brake even after bleeding.

Hi guys,

As you can see from the title, the my rear brake on my Monster 821 has no stopping power. This is my first bike and I have never worked on a motorcycle before, except for maintaining the chain. The brake pedal goes to the bottom of the travel and does nothing, like literally nothing, I can move the bike with the brake pedal pressed all the way to the bottom. So I watched couple of youtube videos on "How to bleed motorcycle brakes" and bleed the brake as suggested in the videos and the service manual, there were no bubbles after using almost half of the brake fluid from a brand new castrol DOT 4 brake fluid. Even after doing this, it didn't change anything. Do you think I did not bleed the brakes correctly or is there issue I should look at?.

Thank you.

Last edited by manoj517; 04-16-2019 at 11:52 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-17-2019, 11:32 AM

Did you removed the rear brake caliber? The bleeding nozzle is on the bottom of the caliper, the caliper has to be turned upside down for the air to come out.

Is the bike ABS?? I had the same problem here is what I did...the wrong way first and then the right way haha.

1) Removed Caliper and turned upside down
2) Bleed brake normally.
3) Replace

This worked only a little bit, and then got mushy again.

The right way

1) Ride the bike and brake hard to engage ABS
2) Turn off the bike with the kill switch but leave the key turned on (This keeps the ABS system on)
2) Bleed brake normally.
3) Replace

I repeated this process 4 times, there was a LOT of air in the lines. Back brake works great now!
manoj517 likes this.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 09:18 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverKirk View Post