Ducati Monster Forums: Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum

Ducati Monster Forums: Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum (https://www.ducatimonster.org/forums/)
-   Ducati Monster S Models (https://www.ducatimonster.org/forums/ducati-monster-s-models/)
-   -   Silly question about warming up my S2R 1000 (https://www.ducatimonster.org/forums/ducati-monster-s-models/352890-silly-question-about-warming-up-my-s2r-1000-a.html)

dacquisto 05-01-2018 02:29 PM

Silly question about warming up my S2R 1000

I realize this is a total newbie question, but I would love it if someone would weigh-in about warming up my bike.

I used to have a '98 M900, that I used to let warm up religiously, and just bought a 2008 S2R 1000 with an open clutch cover, a couple days ago. Long story short... I have neighbors and a lot of new excitement about this thing, so... I am, wondering how long I need to let this thing idle and warm up before riding? Do I have to wait until the digital "LO" goes away? Or when the idle drops back down? Or can I ride it gently in 70 degree weather carefully until it warms up, or will I destroy it if I do this?

philb 05-01-2018 09:25 PM

On my M900, I would warm it up just until the oil was circulating, about 30 seconds, and then set off gently for a minute or two -- enough to get out of the neighborhood -- and then I was good to go. I broke it in carefully and properly when I bought it, and again at 122K miles when I replaced the piston rings. I changed the oil every 5K to 6K, always with synthetic. That was a good enough practice to get me 24 years of daily riding, and to 265K miles with no engine rebuilds, so I think that's probably adequate.

PhilB

Luca Brasi 05-02-2018 09:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by philb (Post 3155106)
265K miles with no engine rebuilds, so I think that's probably adequate.
PhilB

265,000 miles! :0

breaddrink 05-02-2018 08:52 PM

Following.
07 S2R here.