Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

Silly question about warming up my S2R 1000

6K views 26 replies 6 participants last post by  dacquisto 
#1 ·
I realize this is a total newbie question, but I would love it if someone would weigh-in about warming up my bike.

I used to have a '98 M900, that I used to let warm up religiously, and just bought a 2008 S2R 1000 with an open clutch cover, a couple days ago. Long story short... I have neighbors and a lot of new excitement about this thing, so... I am, wondering how long I need to let this thing idle and warm up before riding? Do I have to wait until the digital "LO" goes away? Or when the idle drops back down? Or can I ride it gently in 70 degree weather carefully until it warms up, or will I destroy it if I do this?

#2 ·
On my M900, I would warm it up just until the oil was circulating, about 30 seconds, and then set off gently for a minute or two -- enough to get out of the neighborhood -- and then I was good to go. I broke it in carefully and properly when I bought it, and again at 122K miles when I replaced the piston rings. I changed the oil every 5K to 6K, always with synthetic. That was a good enough practice to get me 24 years of daily riding, and to 265K miles with no engine rebuilds, so I think that's probably adequate.

PhilB

#20 ·
Got any pics, dacquisto?
Oh hey, you're in Seattle too. I'm over in Kirkland. :)
I have a pic I took at Ducati Seattle - I know it's not a full shot, but I was trying to be discreet.

Also, not entirely sure the best way to post this since you can't pull links from Flickr, but I'll try...

#7 ·
No pics yet. I want to wash it first, but for some reason, when the sun is out, I feel more like riding it than washing it. Go figure.

I used to drive through Kirkland all the time for work. Lake Washington is a nice ride.

#9 ·