New member with a few questions - Ducati Monster Forums: Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum

post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-19-2015, 09:42 AM Thread Starter

New member with a few questions

Hey all,

Iím a new member from central NJ, I have been browsing this forum for a while and just picked up my 1200 from Fast by Ferracci a couple weeks back but have been too busy riding to make any posts. This is my second bike, first was a Honda Shadow 750 I bought in high school and rode all through college. Now that I graduated and could afford to upgrade I took the plunge on a leftover new 2014 1200 and have loved every second of it. Already put over 1000 miles on her and has only gotten better since the first service.

So far the only upgrades I have done are installing a RAM mount for my phone and running a USB charger from the DDS connector. I also had opti-coat applied a week after I bought her and I canít recommend it highly enough. Everything just wipes off with a little warm water and I donít have to worry about small scratches or scuffs from my jeans on the tank. It also makes the paint a slightly deeper red and looks amazing.
Next on my list are some CRG Arrows since the stock mirrors are crap. I am considering a windscreen but from everything I have been reading I think I am too tall (6í 2Ē) and will just have the wind go from my chest to my helmet. Any taller members able to comment on how effective the Puig windscreen is?

Also does anyone have a good suggestion for a permanent mounting solution for an EZ pass? I ride to work every day that the weather allows and pass multiple tolls so I want to find a semi-permanent location where I can just forget about it. I tried leaving it in my jacket but it has not been read and I also frequently pass though gated tolls so even though it is registered to my plate I need to keep it on me to activate the gate. Any suggestions?

Look forward to learning and contributing to the forum.
Attached Thumbnails